PDA

View Full Version : Does consistency come with time or is it more natural?

TheBFG
6th January 2011, 05:46 PM
Hi all, Im new to the forum and was hoping for some advice, I guess my question is aimed more towards experienced players.

First a bit about me, I've been playing on and off now for approx 4 years(the last 2 being constant) and using dartpro to chart my progress my average has gone up from a starting 3 dart monthly of 48.5 to at the end of last month 68.8. I must admit I do cancel the odd really bad leg but I have been doing that since I started so it is a quite accurate record of my improvement. I have also played in a local league the last 2 years.

Im throwing alot of 501 legs between 16-21 darts but I still have quite a few games where its up around 25-27. On my bad legs I really seem to lack consistency on the scoring for no apparent reason and was wondering whether to those of you who have reached a high standard do those sorts of legs get fewer as you get the years behind you or is it more a case of still throwing bad legs here and there but the good legs just get even better so your still better overall?

I've just read thast back and realised its not worded very well but I hope you see what Im getting at, to put it another way does practise create consistency or does it more so get you to a better standard overall so the bad legs dont have such an impact?.

Cheers.:smileodf:

Steve Metalman
6th January 2011, 06:22 PM
Hiya BFG.
First of all welcome to the forum.
A certain amount of consistency will come as you develop a repeatable technique.
Even the top pros have to work at this.
But remember it's likely to be handed back to you when you play off the practice board.

I guess the question could also be, 'how can I bring consistency to my game'?

Thats a bit harder to answer.
The main thing is being able to have a repeatable technique as said above.